Latest News

Gliding NZ Conference & AGM – Wellington 10-11 June 2017

Full details here

What you need to know about ADS-B

See the answers to these FAQs

Time to update your FLARM

Remember that the FLARM firmware now needs to be updated at least annually
check this out!

Gliding NZ Conference & AGM – Wellington 10-12 June 2016

And the award winners were!!

Angus Rose Bowl

Presented to the NZGA by Bill Angus, one of the original pioneers in aviation in New Zealand, the Angus Rose Bowl is awarded in recognition of outstanding services to the sport of gliding in this country.

Martyn Cook

Friendship Cup

Awarded for outstanding contribution to the gliding movement during the preceding year.

Grae Harrison

Air New Zealand Soaring Award

Awarded to the pilot who has shown the most significant improvement in their personal standard of competition or record flying during the year.

Mark Tingey

CWF Hamilton Trophy

This trophy is awarded to a New Zealander operating in New Zealand for the most meritorious flight that is a New Zealand gliding record.

Terry Delore

Buckland Soaring Award

North Island Division

Tim Bromhead

Highest OLC 6-flight score South Island Division

Max Stevens

Air New Zealand Cross-Country Award

North Island Division

Jevon McSkimming

Highest OLC 6-flight score
QGP holder for no more than 10 years, non Gold C distance
South Island Division

Ken Montgomery

 Annual Report 2016 here

Pilots selected for World Gliding Championships

The Gliding New Zealand Selection Panel for international representatives is pleased to announce the following selections for FAI Category 1 events:

Pociunai, Lithuania, 30 July – 14 August 2016

Alex McCaw Club Class
Nick Oakley Club Class

Benalla, Australia, 8-21 January 2017

Steve Wallace 15m Class
Alan Belworthy 15m Class
John Coutts 18m Class
Tim Bromhead 18m Class
Brett Hunter Open Class
Mark Tingey Open Class

Spekon parachute emergency Airworthiness Directive

If you own a SPEKON RE-5L Serie 5+ parachute you need to be aware of this EASA Emergency Airworthiness Directive

New page added for weather information – here

This includes a link to MetFlight GA, which is now available free from Met Service using your GNZ number & DOB

[However, if your GNZ number is greater than 4500 you may have to be patient and wait a wee while for Met Service to load your details.]

Continuing Airworthiness Notice – Discus b and Discus CS

Recent bail-out caused by pickets jamming ailerons – details here.

Are you using an early model Cambridge or Volkslogger Flight Recorder?

Then read this!  Rod Ruddick can fix Cambridge black-box GPS units – details here

© Copyright Gliding New Zealand 2008. All Rights Reserved